Athletics at Southeastern Louisiana University Notable Highlights 1999 - 2000

☐ Frank Pergolizzi, Director of Athletics at East Tennessee State ☐ Frank Schneider, women's basketball coach for the past 15 years, for the last two years, was named the Lions' new Director of posted his 300th career win on February 17 against Nicholls State. Athletics. Pergolizzi, 43, became the 10th Director of Athletics in Stacey Turner was named SLC and LSWA Newcomer of the Year. the 75 year history of Southeastern. She also garnered the SLU Female Athlete of the Year award. ☐ The men's golf team rolled to its second Southland title in three ☐ Female track and field athlete Christine Amertil qualified for the years, earning them an automatic berth to the NCAA Central NCAA Outdoor Championships by running a blistering 52.26 in Tournament. Twelfth year coach Tim Baldwin won his second SLC the 400 meters Coach of the Year award, while junior Jacques Chevallier earned SLC ☐ The women's tennis team was the year's biggest surprise. After Player of the Year honors. Chevallier was also named the SLU Male going 0-19 in 1999, the team recorded 12 victories in 2000. Athlete of the Year. Senior François Nicolas finished as a second-Southeastern's Dan Silverstein was named the All-Louisiana team All-SLC selection, and Andy Smith was selected as an Women's Tennis Coach of the Year. Freshman Anne Mette, who honorable mention All-Southland golfer. finished 20-7, was named the SLC Freshman of the Year and first-☐ The Lady Lion soccer team won its first regular-season team All Louisiana. Southland Conference soccer championship. Coach Blake ☐ Baseball coach Greg Marten became the second Southeastern Hornbuckle was selected Louisiana Sports Writer's Association coach of the year to win career game number 300 as the Lions Coach of the Year for the second time and earned his first SLC defeated Jackson St. April 19th. Although the Lions narrowly Coach of the Year honor after leading the team to eleven wins, the missed the SLC tournament, they posted quality non-conference most in school history. Wanda Regan earned Freshman of the Year wins over nationally ranked Louisiana-Lafayette and Tulane. They and Linn Vilson won Newcomer of the Year honors. A total of also swept UNO and finished the year with a victory over eight Lady Lions earned All-SLC notice. Conference USA leader Southern Mississippi. Source: Office of Athletics