Alumni Awards

The true measure of a university’s greatness can be found in the achievements of its alumni, and Southeastern Louisiana University is certainly known to develop leaders in many fields of endeavor. A vast number of the University’s alumni have gained unique distinction through success in their professions, service to the University, and contributions to their community. The Southeastern Alumni Association established its awards program in 1969 to honor outstanding graduates and to celebrate their achievements.


Our 2023 Award Recipients

Robby Miller

2023 Alumnus of the Year

The Honorable Robby Miller

Tangipahoa Parish President

Jason Latiolais

2023 Young Alumnus of the Year

Jason Latiolais

 President / CEO Barriere Construction



Distinguished Alumni from each College:

Cynthia Nesser

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Cynthia H.  Nesser

Consultant, Conservation and Nonprofit Enthusiast

Steve Cory

College of Business

Stephen Cory

President at Cory Tucker & Larrowe, Inc.

Byron Hurst

College of Education

Dr. Byron Hurst

Superintendent at Bogalusa City Schools

Nicole Telhiard

College of Nursing & Health Sciences

Dr. Nicole Telhiard

Chief Nursing Officer at Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center

Chase Dupre

College of Science & Technology

Chase Dupre

Senior Director of Global IAM & Technical Controls at Baker Hughes

Samantha Perez

College of Honors & Excellence

Dr. Samantha Perez

Assistant Professor of History at Southeastern Louisiana University


Additional 2023 Awards:

Stephanie Kropog

Kathy L. Pittman Distinguished Service Award

Stephanie Kropog

Physician Services Director, North Oaks Health System

Peter Emerson

L.E. Chandler Award

Dr. Peter Emerson

Director of University Counseling Center, Southeastern Louisiana University

Paige LeBleu

L.E. Chandler Award

Paige LeBleu

Assistant Director of Athletic Mental Health and Wellness

Sam Hubbard

Friendship Oak Award

Reverend Sam Hubbard

Pastor, First Christian Church of Hammond

Melissa Durand

Friendship Oak Award

Melissa Guerra

Owner, Honey Bee Lane Bakery