News Release

Ben Nevers Transfer Scholarship

Transfer scholarship to honor Louisiana Senator Ben Nevers

Contact: Rene Abadie


Click on thumbnail for high resolution photo

Wendy Johns-Lauderdale, Southeastern Louisiana University vice president for university advancement, presents a certificate announcing the Senator Ben Nevers Transfer Scholarship to Senator Nevers. With her are Louisiana Community and Technical College President Stevie Smith, left, and LCTCS President Joe D. May.

     HAMMOND – Southeastern Louisiana University’s scholarship program designed to assist qualified students transferring there from Louisiana community colleges has been named in honor of Louisiana Senator Ben Nevers.
     The naming of the program, announced jointly by officials at Southeastern and the Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS), is intended to recognize the Washington Parish-based senator’s longstanding commitment to improvement of education in the state. 
     “Southeastern has long been committed to working with students who begin their post-secondary education experience at a community or technical college and then want to continue at the university,” said President John L. Crain. “We have worked closely with our colleagues at LCTCS institutions to better serve Louisiana students, particularly across southeast Louisiana.”
     “This is an incredible opportunity for our community college students as they transfer into the realm of the four-year university,” said LCTCS President Joe D. May. “We often encourage our students to transfer and obtain additional education, and this will definitely make that next step an affordable one. We very much appreciate Southeastern for welcoming our transfer students with open arms and presenting them this great opportunity.”
     The Senator Ben Nevers Transfer Scholarship requires no application and is automatically awarded to qualified students when they apply and are accepted at Southeastern. Requirements include a minimum of 12 hours of credit with a 3.0 or higher transfer grade point average. Housing supplements are available to students with a 3.6 or higher GPA. The number of semesters covered by the scholarships depends upon the number of hours transferred to Southeastern. Additional details on the scholarship are available at
     “Senator Nevers has been a tremendous champion for education in Louisiana and improving students’ access through improved transfer opportunities between two and four-year institutions,” Crain said. “It is a privilege to join with our friends at the community and technical colleges to recognize Senator Nevers and his accomplishments by naming the transfer scholarship in his honor.”
     “Naming this scholarship after Senator Nevers is quite fitting,” May added. “He has been instrumental in making the transfer process a seamless one for our students. We are very grateful for all the work he has done.”
     Nevers recently finalized the work and recommendations of the Louisiana Postsecondary Education Review Commission (PERC), a legislatively appointed group effort to review and analyze Louisiana’s higher education needs with a goal of streamlining operations. 
     He also sponsored legislation – Act 356 of the 2009 Legislative Session – that provides for a comprehensive system of articulation and transfer credit between two and four-year institutions. That legislation is recognized as especially significant for community and technical college students who traditionally faced a variety of challenges in transferring credits to four-year institutions. The act is intended to streamline the process, making the transfer a much smoother operation.
     Senator Nevers, a Louisiana Technical College-Sullivan Campus graduate, previously served in the Louisiana House of Representatives from 1999-2003 and as a member of his local school board. He was elected to the Louisiana Senate in 2008.


More News...